Korea Visa Waiver Agreement Countries

December 11, 2020 by eklose

As a general rule, transit travellers do not require a visa to transit through South Korea for less than 24 hours (for Incheon Airport) or if they depart on the same calendar day (for all other airports) as long as they are in the transit area. – Please refer to the appendix of the list of countries that are affected by the suspension of the visa/entry exemption without visa requirement. In 2007, the government introduced several new rules for the E-2 visa. These include a criminal record check, a health check and a consulate/embassy interview for the first candidates. [60] In 2008, it was denounced as discriminatory in several English-speaking countries that were excluded from the E-2 visa application. The Philippine ambassador met with Korean immigration officials to convince them to change policy and allow Filipino teachers to teach English in South Korea. [61] However, the government had already indicated earlier this year that it was considering extending E-2 visas to other countries, but it needed approval from various government authorities, so there was no timetable for implementation. [62] In the same year, foreign instructors already working in Korea also characterized the visa rules as discrimination because they were subjected to health criminals and other controls, unlike other foreigners with different visas. B, such as foreign-born Koreans or foreigners who had married Koreans. Korean immigration responded that its policy was to favour ethnic Koreans and that other nations and territories had a similar policy.

[63] The increase in crime was cited as the reason for the regulation, but some teachers felt that it was a backlash to an alleged paedophile who had taught in South Korea but never had a criminal record at all. Immigration has again claimed the right to decide how and to whom it issued visas. [64] Later in 2009, a complaint was filed with the National Human Rights Commission in Korea regarding the checks carried out by Professor Benjamin Wagner. [65] 2. For short-term visitors, A1, A-2, A-3 visa holders and foreigners who have received the “exception quarantine” certificate, please download the latest version of the “Autodiagnosis” (click) Monaco app, Vatican, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Albania, Cyprus, San Marino, Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia (90 days), Andorra, Croatia [11 countries] If you are a traveller from a VWP country and your passport does not meet these requirements, you may want to consider obtaining a new VWP passport from the Passport Issue Authority in your country of citizenship.



  • No categories